Kids React to Controversial Cheerios Commercial

I never did understand why this commercial, which General Mills aired last year, featuring a multi-racial couple and their child, was so controversial. When I’d read of the hateful feedback received from thousands of people on the company’s website and on YouTube, I was stunned and saddened.

Obviously, I was not the only one. It will be these children who will continue to change our world by raising the next generation with the same blindness toward race, creed, color, and sexuality.

This video makes my heart glad. And I was doubly glad to see Cheerios featured the same family in another commercial on Super Bowl Sunday.

One thought on “Kids React to Controversial Cheerios Commercial

  1. I hadn’t seen this commercial so like the children, I was watching it for the first time. I too, am stunned that such prejudice still exists in our society today. Love is love, regardless of colour or sexuality & it is up to us to ask for nothing less than equality & respect for all human beings. I love that the children in this video are adopting a different mindset than generations before them although I suspect that there are many children who will still grow to be adults with prejudices learned from their parents. It is up to all of us to continue to educate where ignorance exists. My personal favourite is the little girl in the turquoise tank top, she is adorable & clearly very passionate about human equality. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

