Surfacing~Healing After a Major Depressive Episode

+ “I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project. I will blog about mental health topics, not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health issues. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase  the stigma of mental illness.”

This past week, I’ve made contact with some new blogger friends, who kindly reached out to me in love and compassion based on a post I wrote about a struggle I’m  having in my faith journey. One of those, Tony at A Way With Words, http://writingforfoodinindy.wordpress.com/ has inspired me to join the growing movement of bloggers promoting mental health.

 

Thank you, Ruby Tuesday of Canvas of the Mind for the opportunity to be a part of this growing network. If you are a mental health blogger and would like to be a part of this special project I highly recommend you take a look at Blog For Mental Health 2013 to see how you can qualify. A Canvas of the Mind tells the story of the launching of the movement –here.  There, she explains the terms –blogformentalhealth20131

1.) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″. (quote above)

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.  (above)

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you. (below)

4.) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know! (bottom)

Short bio: From the time I can first remember, I have been sad. I was a sad child, a sad teen, and a sad adult. Not until becoming the mother of a developmentally disabled daughter with an autistic spectrum disorder and co-morbid mental health issues, was I properly diagnosed and treated for dysthymia.

Now, at age 50, I’ve had my ass kicked by the deaths of several members of my family and some friends over a two-year period, including my mom, my dad, my mother-in-law and others, while losing my full-time, paid employment, and the unpaid, care-giving role to my long-time physically disabled parents.

My developmentally disabled daughter graduated from the special education system and into the adult services world, and a first time marital issue and religious doubts cast me deep into a Major Depressive Episode which I’m only starting to emerge from and heal.

As a relative new-comer to the blogosphere, I’m honored to have Tony ask me to take part in this project and I’m hoping that my limited experience in writing and in the ins and outs of WordPress have me doing this correctly.

5 Blogs I follow:

A Way With Words: http://writingforfoodinindy.wordpress.com/who-i-am/

Raising 5 Kids with Disabilities While Remaining Sane: http://5kidswdisabilities.com/about/

Vortex 144: http://vortex144.wordpress.com/

The War In My Brain: http://meganhasocd.com/about/

Ms. Crabby Ass: http://misscrabbyass.wordpress.com/about/

3 thoughts on “Surfacing~Healing After a Major Depressive Episode

  1. I’m so glad that you are beginning to heal. It can be a long journey, but you come out a stronger person for it. Thank you for taking the pledge, and for spreading awareness about our campaign — I truly am grateful. And as you say you are a relative newcomer, I strongly encourage you to explore the wonderful mental health community here at WordPress (and other blogging platforms, this just happens to be the one I know intimately). Even beyond mental health, I have made so many good friends who have supported me through the really rough times and helped me to heal. I’ve even had the honor of meeting a number of them!

    I’ve got you added to our blogroll, and shared your post through our social media (facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest). Thank you again, and I wish you all the best in your healing!

Leave a Reply

